A Court of Thorns and Roses #1: A Court of Thorns and Roses – by Sarah J. Maas

22839894
Image taken from: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22839894-a-court-of-thorns-and-roses

Below is a summary from Sarah J. Maas’ website:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

A Court of Thorns and Roses (also nicknamed ACOTAR) is the first book in a new trilogy by Sarah J. Maas and is a retelling of the Beauty and the Beast story. Luckily there is a guide in the back for those hard to pronounce names such as Feyre (Fay-ruh) and Rhysand (Ree-sand).

I still can’t quite get my thoughts together about this book but I do know that I absolutely loved it, even as I think that I’m coming into a reading slump. There were points when I wanted to cry yet didn’t. However, there was one moment when I lost it and just broke down.

Spoiler Alert!

This, my friends, would be the part where Feyre died and how Tamlin reacted when he knew that she was gone. Also following that too when all the High Fae gave her a little sprinkle of magic or something along those lines to bring her back.

End Spoilers!

There is a divide between a lot of people over whether Feyre should be with Rhysand (with a ‘ship’ name of Feysand) or whether she should be with Tamlin with the lovely ‘ship’ name of Feylin. Until today, I was firmly in the camp of Feylin, but now I have one foot each side of the line.

I think that it was good that she went home even just so that we could find out what happened to her sisters and to give us peace of mind to know that her family was okay.

The only thing that slightly bugged me was the way that Rhysand left at the end, only as I badly want to know what happened there but there is no hint to what that is yet so I assume it will be shown in the next book.

Rating: 5/5

1 * 2 * 3 * 4 * 5 *

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses #1: A Court of Thorns and Roses – by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s